It’s cold so let’s eat more ice cream

A new ice cream place has opened in the retro gas station by Pasadena City College ~

The gas station used to be home to Motordogs, and ever since Motordogs left earlier this summer and Afters Ice Cream announced it was moving in, I made it a point to walk by every week to check on the progress. Unfortunately, I missed Afters Ice Cream’s official opening because it was just too cold and rainy that night for me to make the trek.

But today was a crisp, sunny day, so dog and I went forth to get a fabled milky bun. Around 4 p.m. there was a line of people in front of the tiny station — apparently I wasn’t the only one who thought ice cream on a cold day was a good idea. The line made dog happy because she got to greet people, but it was a little annoying for me because it took so long, since everyone wanted to sample all the flavors.

(I maintain that there should always be a separate line for people who need to sample before ordering, and a line for people who know what they want and are ready to order. I really just hate waiting in line because people in front of me can’t make decisions.)

Since I had walked all this way, I stayed in line and got a strawberry cookie crunch milky bun with cookie crisp topping. No glaze because you have to draw the line somewhere.

It was, unsurprisingly, good. Warm bun, strawberry ice cream, crunchy topping tucked within…dog was jealous.

10176040_10103614439995104_2329190535933698154_n

Don’t worry, she had cookies of her own.

I’ll have to return soon to try cookie monster. I hear that one is also a winner.

Afters Ice Cream is located at 1265 E Green St. in Pasadena and is open from noon to midnight every day.

Leave a Reply

