All I wanted was a little pink in my hair

A couple of months ago, I dyed a layer of my hair purple. I had it done by a professional because I’ve always been pretty bad at DIY hair coloring, and it was worth every penny. I walked out of the salon looking great and not reeking of chemicals. I was very happy.

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 下午11.00.14
Just the right amount of purple. So happy. Also, repping the Pasadena Roving Archers!

Fast forward to now. The dye had mostly washed out, leaving behind reddish-blonde hair. It wasn’t bad looking, and I didn’t feel like going back to the salon to get it touched up or re-colored. I figured I’d let it grow out some more and then maybe do something else in a few more months. But then I somehow got it into my head that I should take advantage of the already bleached layer of hair and dye it myself.

It will be so easy, I thought. The hair is already lightened. You could just add a little color.

It’s like I just don’t learn from my past mistakes.

I settled on pink because my most absolute favorite hair color of all time was when I had neon pink highlights, and I thought it’d be really fun to bring that back. Of course, because I now work for a conservative government agency, I opted for a lighter shade of pink so it wouldn’t be quite as shocking. I wanted something subtle. A sort of pink shimmer, if you will, that can peek out from under the black hair.

So I bought a box of Feria Smokey Pink and hit the showers. Being the lazy person that I am, I didn’t bother to separate the bleached layer of hair from the rest before applying the dye. I just applied it all over because I figured the dye wouldn’t really show up on the black hair anyway. Then I decided to use a face mask while waiting for the dye to set because multi-tasking is a thing people do — people who are not me, apparently. I just ended up distracted as I cleansed my face, which meant I left the dye on about ten minutes longer than the suggested time.

(By the way, this whole time my eyes were watering from the fumes. The chemical smell of the dye is ridiculous. If you decide to try the Feria line, I suggest making sure you do it in a well ventilated space.)

Anyway, after I washed the dye out and dried my hair, I got this:

20160810_224611
Definitely not pink in any way shape or form.

Not only had the bleached hair not taken on any color, the dye had somehow lightened the rest of my hair. I’m still not sure how that happened since the box pretty much said the color wouldn’t show up unless hair was bleached first…

Luckily, it doesn’t look bad. I’ll have to play around a bit tomorrow with my makeup to match my newly lightened hair color, but that’s not a big deal. I’m just sad that nothing came out remotely pink. All I wanted was a little pink in my hair. But now I’ll have to wait until my next trip to the salon.

Leave a Reply

